Shared Connections

By sharing database connections with your team, you’re making it easier for teammates to connect.

To create a new connection, open the connection manager by pressing Cmd+3 or click Manage Connections near the top center of the app.

Screenshot of managing your connections

Next, click New Connection:

Screenshot of the New Connection button

Enter your connection details, and then towards the end you’ll see Do you want to share this connection with your teammates?

Screenshot of various options for connection sharing

Here’s what each option means:

No, keep it private: Your connection details will stay private on your computer. The credentials will be stored securely in your keychain. When your teammates use PopSQL, they won’t see this connection.

Yes, except the username and password: We’ll securely store this connection nickname, type, host, port, database name, but not the username and password. Your teammates will see this connection, but they’ll need the database username and password to use the connection. This helps your teammates get started with PopSQL.

Yes, including the username and password: Similar to above, however, we’ll also securely store the database username and password, so your teammates will have all the information they need to connect. This creates the best experience for teammates adopting PopSQL.

How to delete a shared connection

To delete a shared connection, hover the connection, and click the dropdown icon.

GIF of clicking the dropdown menu for a shared connection

Delete for me: We’ll delete the connection from your computer, but your teammates will still see it.

Delete for everyone: We’ll delete the connection for all your teammates so they won’t be able to use that connection anymore. Your teammates will need to restart PopSQL for the changes to take effect.

Security

For information on security, please visit our Security page.